Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is appointed by the Director, and consists of senior faculty from basic sciences and clinical departments at UC Irvine. Each member is asked to serve a two-year term.  The Executive Committee meets regularly and actively participates in establishing the goals and direction of the Institute, as well as providing critical evaluation of ongoing programs.

Photo of Howard Federoff M.D., Ph.D.
Howard Federoff M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine UCI MIND
Photo of Frank M. LaFerla, Ph.D.
Frank M. LaFerla, Ph.D.
Co-Director, UCI MIND; Dean Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences

Alzheimer’s disease; animal models, inclusion body myositis (IBM); Lewy body dementia; pre-clinical drug development; stem cell biology

Faculty Page; Poster

Photo of Carl W. Cotman, Ph.D.
Carl W. Cotman, Ph.D.
Founding Director and Professor Neurology; Neurobiology & Behavior

Exercise; neurotrophic support; neuroinflammation

Faculty Page; Poster 1; Poster 2

Photo of Claudia H. Kawas, M.D.
Claudia H. Kawas, M.D.
Professor Neurology; Neurobiology & Behavior

Successful aging; The 90+ Study; Oldest old, Dementia; Alzheimer’s disease.

Faculty Page

Photo of Edwin S. Monuki, M.D., Ph.D.
Edwin S. Monuki, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor Pathology; Developmental & Cell Biology

Choroid plexus; stem cells; Alzheimer’s disease; cortical development.

Faculty Page

Photo of Leslie M. Thompson, Ph.D.
Leslie M. Thompson, Ph.D.
Professor Psychiatry & Human Behavior; Neurobiology & Behavior

Huntington’s disease; stem cell biology; animal models.

Faculty Page; Poster

Photo of David Cribbs, Ph.D.
David Cribbs, Ph.D.
Research Professor and Associate Director, UCI MIND; Neuropathology Core Co-Leader, UCI ADRC

Alzheimer’s disease; cerebral vascular pathology; immunotherapy.

Faculty Page; Poster